TTT: Releases in the first half of 2024 I’m excited about

In this week’s Top 10 Tuesday, by That Artsy Reader Girl, we were asking for our bookish goals but since I already covered that in my new year’s post, I decided to do the prompt I missed last week. There are many new books coming out this year that I am excited for. These are the ones coming out in the first half of the year.

January

I have read both of Alex Michaelides books and while the “The Silent Patient” was better than “The Maidens”, I am still open to read more of his works. He is a good writer and definitely knows how to put a twist into a story. His books keep me captivated so I am curious what his latest has to offer.

The same goes for Kiley Reid. I enjoyed “Such a Fun Age” and didn’t even realize I was anticipating another book by her until I saw it on the list of upcoming new releases. I immediately remembered how her debut novel made me feel. Time to see what she has come up with now.

February

I have yet to read “There, There” by Tommy Orange but it has been on my TBR for ages. However, with the followup book coming out, I think that book may get bumped up higher on my TBR. Maybe I will make it a dual post about my reading experience of both books. hmm.

March

These are two books I wasn’t anticipating being interested in but then I read the summaries and I had to put it on the list. I loved Mark Twain’s “Tom Sawyer” and “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.” Normally I shy away from retellings because I love the classics all too much but I am interested to see how Everett tells the story from Jim’s point of view.

I loved Marquez’ “One Hundred Years of Solitude” and though I have yet to read his other works, I am intrigued by this one. I am just hoping that this isn’t another “lost” book of an author that should have never been published, like so many I have read that were “found” after the author’s death.

April

Having just read Leigh Bardugo’s “Ninth House” again and “Hell Bent”, I am familiar with her writing. Her newest book seems very interesting, as it is a historical fantasy. I like it when authors put a twist on historical events to make a completely original story.

The attack on Salman Rushdie is still fresh in my mind and I am a little surprised that he was able to write it about it so quickly after it happened. It was a horrific attack but I am interested in what he has to say about it, especially since he hasn’t really talked about it.

I have only read “In the Garden of Beasts” by Erik Larson but I have all of his books on my TBR to get through. This is newest one is about the start of the Civil War and Abraham Lincoln, one of the presidents that has always interested me.

“The Secret Lives of Booksellers and Librarians” is a book about books and true stories about the magic of reading. Need I say more? It was written by James Patterson so I have no doubt that this is going to be a good read.

May

I am always looking for a good celebrity memoir to read and Whoopi Goldberg is definitely a celebrity I want to know more about. I am sure she has an interesting story to tell. So of course this memoir is going on my list.

Leave a comment