March Book Haul

We are 10 days into March and I think I finally have my reading list down for the month. It was a challenge to narrow down what I wanted to read, especially because my initial reading list for March was thrown a curve ball when I found all the books were either checked out with a wait list or they just didn’t have them.

So after some rearranging and actually caving into buying some books, the reading list is as follows:

img_0020

“The Magus” by John Fowles

This is my Modern Classic Book Club read for March and I am about three quarters through it. I will be honest, I went into this book with trepidation. After “The Ginger Man” and the fact that this book is 850 pages, I was hesitant to even start this one. But I am glad that I did. It is so good. Our book club meeting got pushed to this week due to the nor’easter on Wednesday but I am glad to have the extra week so I can take it all in.  A review should be coming on Thursday.

“The Woman in the Window” by A. J. Finn

This is an impromptu book club read. A group I am part of does a book club every so often and they decided to do one for March. I figured why not. However, because it is so new, the library was out of all their copies. I had to buy this one, hence the sticker still on the jacket. I hope it is worth the buy. The book club is also on Wednesday so I have a lot of reading to get done this week.

“Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity Faith and Family” by Garrard Conley

My Capital District Book Club is reading is nonfiction for March and this is what the group picked. Another one that I had to buy. This will be my third nonfiction read for the month. Wow. The other two were good so I hope this one keeps the trend going. Stay tuned for a review next week.

“The Snow Child” by Eowyn Ivey

This is a leftover from February because I hate not reading books I selected. I renewed it and should be getting to it before the end of the month.

“The Wind in the Willows” by Kenneth Grahame

As promised, I am trying to narrow down my personal TBR list with a pick each month. Given my other serious reads, I figured this one might be an easy, fun read, especially since its a children’s book.

Other reads

Not pictured is the book I read at the start of the month, “The Underground Girls of Kabul: In Search of a Hidden Resistance in Afghanistan.” See my review here.

Also, I started my first audiobook. YAY! After some advice from friends and my followers, I went with an easy one to start. “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio. I’m on the last disc but I have already downloaded my next audiobook “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle. I should have reviews soon along with a post about my experience venturing into audiobooks. Stay tuned.

Yours truly,

Book Admirer


Have you read any books on this list? What did you think? Post your comments below. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “March Book Haul

  1. I haven’t read or heard many books you mentioned here, but they do seem interesting! I hope you enjoy them when you read them. 😊 Wonder was such a lovely read!! I’m glad you’re enjoying audiobooks so far, I only got into them this year as well! I’ll definitely be interested in seeing your post on audiobooks ahah. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment